Washington County is the oldest established county in the state of Alabama, and originally included much of both the states of Alabama and Mississippi. Washington County was created on June 4, 1800 as a county of the Mississippi Territory. The county’s original boundaries extended 300 miles east to west and 88 miles to the north and south. Some 26,400 square miles of Washington County’s original territory were carved out to make 16 counties in Mississippi and 29 counties in Alabama. (www.encyclopediaofalabama.org/article/h-1295)

Below are some historic sites that you will find in Washington County.