This house was originally a one-story home built circa 1834 by Captain Samuel Madison Scott at Scott’s Station, just west of Marion. Captain Scott’s widowed daughter, Anna Scott Hanna, inherited the house. In 1904, she had it dismantled, loaded on 25 mule-drawn wagons, and brought to its present site in Marion. When re-erected, it was enlarged into a two-story, Victorian-style house. The gazebo was added around 1910. This house has a wrap-around porch that culminates at the gazebo. It contains extensive use of decorative spindle-work, turned posts and bannisters. This house is commonly referred to as the “Lillian Moore” Home. Lillian Moore was the great-granddaughter of Captain Scott and she lived the vast majority of her 96 years in this house, until her death in 2001.
Marion, AL has four multiple properties listed on the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP): the Marion Courthouse Square Historical District, the West Marion Historical District, the Green Street Historical District and the Judson College Historic District. This house is included in the Marion Courthouse Square Historical District. The Scott-Hanna-Moore House is also included in Alabama’s Tapestry of Historic Places 1978 published by the Alabama Historical Commission.
The “Lillian Moore” house is located on the northwest corner of the intersection of Monroe Street and Washington Street in front of the Marion United Methodist Church near downtown Marion (GPS coordinates 32.634580, -87.319511).
This is a private residence – drive by only.
Sources: 1) Perry County Heritage, Volume II; 2) The National Register’s Marion Courthouse Square Historic District Document