The Arlington Methodist Church was built circa 1887 using lumber from George Lynch’s mill near Kimbrough, AL. George Lynch built the church building, doors and windows. The belfry was added to the church at a later date. The pews in the church are heart pine, hand-planed, and were made from lumber from Albert Pickett Dumas’ sawmill. The church has its original wood floor which shows where the pot-belly stoves were once located. Two small Sunday School Rooms were partitioned off inside the main building in 1948 and the raised pulpit section was added. The church’s fellowship hall was built in the late 1950s. Stained glass window panes were installed in the church in 1968. This church is included in Alabama Tapestry of Historic Places, published by the Alabama Historical Commission.
This church is located in the community of Arlington, AL in western Wilcox County (GPS coordinates 32.056181, -87.585241).
Source: History of the Arlington United Methodist Church by Mrs. Dan Bragg Cook