Advanced Search

Close Search

Old Selma Depot Museum at Selma, AL (building built ca. 1890, listed on the NRHP)

The Old Depot Museum is located at the old L&N Railroad Depot at the end of historic Water Avenue in downtown Selma. The Depot building was built on the site of the Confederate Naval Foundry which was destroyed by Federal troops during the Battle of Selma in 1865.  The red brick, stone trimmed building of Romanesque Revival architecture was built ca. 1890.  It is one of 12 railroad depots in the Southeast designated by Southern Living to be of architectural and historical importance. The building is a contributing property to Selma’s “Water Avenue Historic District” that listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Today, the old Depot is an interpretive history museum that has an impressive collection of artifacts and memorabilia depicting life in Selma and Dallas County from the days of the pre-historic Indians who lived in the region, to the time before and after the Civil War, and up through America’s days of the Civil Rights Movement. The Old Depot Museum is a testament to the various cultures and people who contributed to the development of the Black Belt region of Alabama. There are also several exhibits located outside the Old Depot building including antique railcars, a Victorian Firehouse where visitors can view Selma’s first fire bell, a horse drawn steam-powered fire pump, and an American LaFrance fire truck.

Similar Attractions

“Orrville Male Academy” Building at Orrville, AL (built ca. 1850)

The “Orrville Male Academy” building, or Ben Ellis Dunaway House, was built around 1850 as a boys’ academy. The contractor was Willis H. Green. In 1880, the building was converted into a home by Benjamin F. Ellis who was a Confederate veteran and prominent Orrville merchant. In 1923, the house was remodeled with interior renovations […]

More Info

Henderson House at Selma, AL (built ca. 1855, listed on the NRHP)

This Greek revival mansion was built c. 1855 for William B. King and named “Fairoaks” for the many trees found about the place. King was the nephew of Vice President William Rufus King. Ann B. Wilson, a half-sister of the builder, inherited the house in 1862 and sold it to Judge Franklin W. Siddons. During […]

More Info

Dallas Academy Building at Selma, AL (built c. 1889, listed on the NRHP)

This two-story, Renaissance Revival building, built ca. 1889, originally housed a private school funded by the Ladies Educational Society of Selma to educate the sons and daughters of Selma’s wealthy citizens. Dallas Academy later became Selma’s first public school. Selma’s public school system is the second oldest in Alabama. The Dallas Academy school closed in […]

More Info